“Wonders three primary structures of the ancient city are

      “Wonders of the modern world!”


The Seven Wonders of the modern World is the latest version of the Seven
Wonders, which come from the time of the Greek antiquity .The most famous list
of the Seven Wonders of the modern world is the list compiled by the American Society of Civil Engineers,
containing: Chichen Itza, Christ the Redeemer (statue), Great Wall of China,
Machu Picchu, Petra, Colosseum and Taj Mahal. All of these structures
were selected not only based on their ingenuity engineering, but also based on
their historical importance.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

First off, let’s start the list
with the wonder which is debatably the most famous one of them all, The Great
Wall of China. It is built in
China and it is a series of fortifications made of stone, brick, tampered earth, and wood. This astounding wall
was generally built along an east-to-west line across the historical northern
borders of China to protect the Chinese population from the invasions of the nomadic tribes. This colossal structure stretches out for 21196 km on the
northern border of china and has served to protect the country for centuries.
But nowadays even with all the efforts from the locals to preserve it 22% of
the wall has still vanished due to the way the wall was built and the
constructions being built over it.

Next, we have Machu Picchu, the
Incas city built in the top of the mountains above the Sacred Valley. This city
was built during the era of two of the most powerful rules of the Incas and was
requested to be “royal” estate even though it could not be passed down the
lineage. Machu Picchu was built through the traditional methods of Incas with
polished dry-stone walls, the Incas also used metal bonding for the cut stones
placed on top of each other.  The
three primary structures of the ancient city are the Room of the Three
Windows , Intihuatana and the Temple of the Sun. These
structures held significant importance due to them being religious building
used for sacrifices. Even though Machu Picchu was located very near the Incas
capital Cusco there have been no signs of the city being discovered until the
late 17-th century.

modern world wonder coming from a similar civilization residing near the same
region is one of the great mythical cities, Chichen Itza, also one of the
largest Mayan cities. The city had the most diverse population in the Maya
world, and it still continues to attract people from all over the world with
its diverse and unique architecture. The Maya city welcomed more than 2 million
tourists in 2016 mesmerizing them with its fine stone constructed buildings and
the stone laid network of roads.

on the list is the Colosseum of Rome with its glorious history and its elegant
looks. The building served as a gladiator arena during the Roman Empire 72 AD. The
Colosseum’s architecture is astounding taking into account the time of its
construction, making possible the gathering and accommodation of large numbers
of people, it is estimated that the colosseum could hold in between 50,000 and
80,000 spectators. Beauty and elegance aside the Colosseum was designed to be a
killing machine with numerous traps and chambers to keep the exotic animal that
the gladiator would be fighting. But those days of the colosseum are over and
now it serves as one of the main touristic attractions of the capital of Italy,

further down the list of the Seven Wonders of the modern world is Taj Mahal the
“Crown of the Palace” as is its name’s meaning.  It was commissioned in
1632 by the Mughal emperor, to house the tomb of his favorite wife. The
tomb is the centerpiece of a 17-hectare complex, which includes a mosque and a guest house, and is set
in formal gardens bounded on three sides by a crenellate wall. The Taj Mahal was constructed
using materials from all over India and Asia. It is believed over 1,000
elephants were used to transport building materials. Gems and precious stones
are present on the build as much as the white marble stone. This wondrous
palace is open to the public to visit and enjoy its wonderful architecture and
natural beauty.

next wonder is Petra a historical and archaeological city in southern Jordan.  Established possibly as
early as the 4th century BC as the capital city of the Nabataean Kingdom built
inside pink rocks giving it cover from the desert weather. The city is famous
for its rock-cut architecture, water conduit system, and it has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1985. Nowadays the city is the main cultural attraction of
Jordan and a national pride.

the last modern world wonder is the statue of Jesus Christ in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, known as Christ the Redeemer. The giant statue was created by French sculptor Paul
Landowski and
built by the Brazilian engineer Heitor da Silva Costa. The statue measure the
statue 30 meters tall, excluding its 8-metre pedestal with its two arms stretch 28
meters wide. Consisting of reinforced concrete and soapstone the statue weights 635 metric tons. A symbol
of Christianity across the world, the statue has also become a very popular
tourist attraction spreading its arms over Rio de Janeiro.

To sum it up, the Seven Wonders of
the modern world all were built with a special approach giving them the well-deserved
attention they have now and turning them into wonders for future generations to
watch and appreciate.